Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USATF-Black Lives Matter T-shirt

USATF is now selling a t-shirt with the likenesses of Tommie Smith and John Carlos on the awards stand at Mexico City, with the message< "Black Lives Matter, They Always Have". !00% of proceeds will go to Equal Justice Initiative. Considering the way Smith and Carlos were treated by AAU/USOC, it would be a nice gesture if part of the proceeds went to them. I suppose the copywrite on their image has expired?

Copyrights are not patents. Copyrights don't expire for 75 years in the USA

Comment

I am just grateful to see these great athletes finally getting some of the recognition that they so richly deserved back then.

Comment

I'm no lawyer, but I think any copyright protection would be for the creator of the photograph, rather than the athletes pictured.

Comment

Originally posted by KevinR View Post
          I am just grateful to see these great athletes finally getting some of the recognition that they so richly deserved back then.
          Unfortunately the current rules would still have them face repercussions if they did the same thing today.

Comment

Originally posted by ATK View Post
            Unfortunately the current rules would still have them face repercussions if they did the same thing today.
            While the Powers-That-Be cannot condone political 'demonstrations', the punishment for it it should be some nominal fine (which supporters would be glad to pay).
            The problem, of course, is that not all political statements are ethical or moral.
            History is on the side of Smith & Carlos, and now Kaepernick, but there will always be some that are loathsome (KKK/Nazi, etc..)

Comment

Which did happen last year at Pan Ams.

Comment

Originally posted by polevaultpower View Post
                Which did happen last year at Pan Ams.
                Straight from Gwen Berry's open letter back in June: