Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Middle schoolers NOT ALLOWED to run the Mile?

Collapse

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Middle schoolers NOT ALLOWED to run the Mile?

Help!
    I am a middle school track coach in Chesapeake, VA. I have been fighting this rule for 5 years and I need some info to back myself up in an upcoming meeting.

Has anyone out there heard of a middle school track meet without a 1600, but a 4x200 relay instead? The farthest distance contested is the 800. The district directors realize that 4th graders have to run the mile in PE, but they don't think trained athletes can complete the distance in a meet.

I really need people to post their thoughts on this so I can get an idea of what is happening around the country in middle school t&f. Thanks!

Back in the late '80s middle schools in Tennessee (I can say that since I'm from there...) ran 1600 & 3200 for boys and girls.

How long are Virginia Middle School soccer matches and basketball games? Less than 3 minute halves?

Comment

The Middle School Championships for Florida were last weekend and we ran 1500 and 3000 for boys and girls. It makes no sense not to.

Comment

In 1965 i was a 12 year old 7th grader and ran age group track. For some reason they thought we couldnt run a mile so we had to run a 1320, 3/4 of a mile. I thought that kind of thinking was ancient history.

Not that i condone middle school age kids running the marathon but you could use it for ammo at the meeting. "Here's a kid who ran 26 miles and you wont let our kids run ONE MILE!!"

Anybody out there know the us record for 12-13 year olds for the marathon? Thanx! And good luck coach!
        phsstt!

Comment

Re: Middle schoolers NOT ALLOWED to run the Mile?

Originally posted by GoFaster97
          Help!