Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tim MONTGOMERY

dON'T YOU ALL AGREE THAT MONTGOMERY WAS A BUST AT THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS?..

Re: Tim MONTGOMERY

I can tell you are a rocket scientest. Yes he was.

Comment

And the sky is blue.

Comment

I am a rocket scientist, and I'd just like to say that finishing 5th in the World Championships is something only 4 others did better. A bust?! Please post the greatest accomplishment in your feeble little life and let's compare it with that.

Comment

I'm no rocket scientist, but it seems to me that whether he was a bust is something that he and track fans must decide. I'm sure most fans agree that for a guy who set a world record holder last year to finish fifth in the World Championships this year can be fairly characterized as a bust.

But you know what else? I'm equally sure that Mr. Montgomery would agree. You and I might be thrilled to be fifth best in the world in any t&f event. But here's a guy who has medaled in the WC's before and he's the WR holder. . . . and he didn't even medal in Paris. I don't think he takes much solace in the fact that there were only four guys ahead of him. In his mind and heart, he probably feels there should not have been anyone ahead of him.

Comment

Circumstances

People always fail to recognize how difficult it is to come back from injury. Early in the year, he had to battle the flu, and just a few weeks before the championships, he had gotten an injury during practice. I think he did well considering the circumstances, but most people can't understand situations like that, and expect athletes to be able to avoid sickness and injury more than the average human being, when athletes are human as well

Comment

Re: Circumstances