Collapse

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are the best XC courses in the US?

It's that time of year. I'm no expert on the best ones in the country, but someone out there probably has an opinion about this. Of the ten courses I ran on in HS races, all but one were fairly non-descript, with no great distinguishing features to recommend them. I've watched meets at UNC, Duke, Indiana, and Colorado, saw one of Pat Porter's umpteen TAC wins in Raleigh (St. Mary's campus? 1986?), went to the 2002 NCAA in Terre Haute, and the US Trials in Boulder this year. I doubt any of those courses would rank in the top 10 in the country.

It seems like a good XC course should be good in three ways. One, for the competitors, it should have variety of terrain and some difficulty, i.e. hills, but should not be absurdly difficult. Two, it should be spectator friendly, allowing one to see the runners a number of times up close without having to run a four minute mile while watching, and at times allowing some viewing of the pack from a distance so you can still follow the race. And third, a nice setting is good, i.e. trees and hills and creeks and a paucity of roads and sidewalks and such. Being outstanding in one of these might preclude being outstanding in another. For instance, the course in Chapel Hill was on the univeristy golf course, set in the middle of this huge pine forest. Really beautiful, but the runners would disappear on one of the loops for a mile at a time, emerge and be visible for a half minute, then disappear for another five minutes. On the other hand, one can catch the runners up close in Terre Haute about 14 times in a 10K race, but the setting is pretty bland, just out in the middle of this huge field, and the course doesn't really have any sharp hills or unique features. I vaguely remember Indiana's course as being pretty good overall.