How "Mental" is Track & Field?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How "Mental" is Track & Field?

I have a question of you board members, and have never had an opportunity to ask it of track savants. How much of a mental barrier, sub-consciously, do you think exists in track & field. I studied the subconscious in pysch classes, especially the effect of placebos, and the efficacy of a trained hypnotist on a suggestible subject. The 7 foot high jump, the four minute mile, and other marks such as the 17 foot pole vault were once considered "barriers". Allowing that fiberglass poles, conditioning and other things have altered the physical aspect slightly, how much of the sport's boundaries were in the mind?

If you read Gale Sayers' memoir "I Am Third", he recounted how in his h.s. state meet in 1961, he needed to nail a 23'6" long jump to cop the state. When Sayers turned away from the pit to retrace his steps, his coach at Omaha Central moved the towel for Gale's target ("mark")a foot and a half forward. Now, Gale's quadriceps and hip flexors did not change while that was occurring. He took him final attempt, leapt for the towel mark, and landed at a state record 24'11 and three quarters. Smacks of mind over matter to me (given, Sayers was a superb athlete, I'm not saying any student could have pulled off the winning jump)

Does anyone have other examples?

I also think of those who run a bit faster in a field of faster competitors. I've read of powerlifters who recorded personal bests when told the bar held a weight they knew they had lifted (when it actually held a PB)

Bijan

Re: How

Yes, at the highest level in any sport the mental side of the game is huge. T&F is no exception. In order to achieve one MUST first believe. Belief in self, coach and training is essential.

Comment