Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 800m training

I am a freshman in high school with a PR of 2:04 in the 800m. I have decided to run cross country this and really want to break 2 minutes my sophomore year of track (spring '09). I was wondering if you can help me devise a schedule to train for the whole summer until xc starts. I was thinking of doing 30-40 miles since i have never built a base or run xc in the past. I was also going to run strides after my runs 3-4x a week. Besides the traditional running x amount of miles every day and then strides after, what else should i be doing that would help my 800m performances in the spring? Do you think you can help me out?
    Freshman in High School:

PRs:

800m- 2:04.09

You need to visit with your high school coach about what he/she wants you doing in the off-season. There are other things you could be doing, but what you are suggesting certainly isn't "wrong." I strongly urge to call your high school coach for several reasons; it shows your level of interest and dedication and it keeps you on the same page as your coach when the season starts.

Welcome to the sport, and good to see you asking questions. Try to learn all you can. Best of luck in cross country and track.

Comment

I'm not involved in HS T&F but aren't there (stupid)(really stupid)(I'll say it again, REALLY stupid) rules that forbid coaching contact like this in the off-season? Be careful you don't violate such a rule and screw up your eligibility. If you've got a good running store or college or university in town, you could seek out help there. A lot of folks would be thrilled to have a motivated 2:04 frosh come to them for help with his training.

Comment

or get involved with a club team with a quality coach...

price is from easton, but her club running is with a club side 90 minutes away near philly...

Comment