Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 month track and field tour of europe - advice needed

I have nearly 4 months off work this year and am travelling to Europe and going to follow the track and field circuit around. 01 June - 20 September.

Can anyone recommend a good base that would be central, cheap and also have tracks close by. I was thinking of university style accommodation.

For a few of the weeks some local Australian athletes will be coming over to compete in some of the EAP meets.

I would like to be in France as I studied french for 5 years and would like to get back in touch with it.

Any advice appreciated.

Here's a couple of links to the main European Athletics Permit meets for 2009:
    http://www.european-athletics.org/index ... Itemid=198

http://www.eap-circuit.org/rubrique.php ... brique=171

The majority seem to be spread between France, Spain Italy and Germany, so maybe you could plan a route between those. The Athletica Geneve meet in Switzerland is a good one if your athletes are looking to set PBs! :wink:

Comment

I think the link you want is this one:

http://www.european-athletics.org/index ... 8&suche=06

That shows June. You can then click on the other months on the menu on the right.

Comment

Maybe you could check this:

www.insep.fr

Institut national des sports et de l'├ęducation physique (INSEP) - Paris
        Located east Paris (Bois de Vinsennes)

I┬┤ve been there with groups and if they still welcome foreigners to stay there
        for a low cost maybe you can contact them?

Comment

Hey observer2 - thanks for the advice about INSEP. A mate of mine also suggested this which has now resulted in an offer to stay. It's not exactly cheap at 50 euros a night but has great facilities and should make a great base for a couple of weeks and a top experience.