Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HS DQs, Part 114

From the Tallahassee paper:

Florida High's Ena Johnson won the 100-meter hurdles (14.98) and 300 hurdles (44.82) and also appeared to win the 100 meters. But her district-winning time was disqualified because she raised her arm at the finish line, and by rule her gesture was considered unsportsmanlike.
    Johnson said she was simply tired from previous races and didn't think she had a chance to win the 100 meters. She said without thinking she raised her arm in celebration.
    "They took it as taunting; that's not how I meant it," Johnson said.
    The 'rule' they are citing is about excessive celebration and taunting, which is clearly a judgement call. What do you think? This is the District meet that qualifies athletes for Region, then State. Obviously I didn't see the incident, but is lifting one's arm at the finsh (relief, exultation?) really a reason to end the runner's season in that event? As a coach, I do address this stuff with my team, but I'm just not feeling the need to DQ someone. Turning at the finish and wagging one's finger at an opponent? Yes, that's taunting . . . but this?

Absurd. (Just like many of the first 113.)

Comment

What do i think? I am 33% outraged, 33% saddened and 33% highly amused. Its sickening, what a bunch of P.C. pussies. Why the hell dont we take Bolts world 100m record away while were at it. Makes me sick, :x

By the way did the offending athlete's underwear match her uniform? The monster probably wore jewery also. :roll:
      phsstt!

Comment

Link?

Usually I fall on the side of a rules a rule, and in the case of the uniforms and jewelry it's hard to blame anyone but the coach or athlete. But IF this is exactly as the snippet reads it's disgusting.

Edit: Link - http://www.tallahassee.com/article/2009 ... 002/SPORTS
        There are no strings on me

Comment

Originally posted by guru
          Link?