Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

High schoolers older than they used to be?

Collapse

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High schoolers older than they used to be?

My U-T colleague Mark Zeigler wrote a great story about how parents are holding back their kids in elementary and middle school to give them an age advantage when they enter high school -- and compete in sports.

Check this out:
    http://www3.signonsandiego.com/stories/ ... ?uniontrib

Question for this board:

Are high school tracksters, and especially record-setters, trending older in recent years? In other words, are we seeing more 19-year-olds as HS seniors than the traditional 18-year-olds?

I graduated from high school in 1972 at age 17. (I turned 18 a month later, in June 1972). I always wonder whether I could have won a scholarship had I entered college a year later.

I ran 14.4 in the 120 highs. OK for a senior. But how would I have been perceived after running 14.4 as a junior?

K E N
    K E N

It is very common around here for boys to either start kindergarten at 6 (a year later than usual). or switch schools in MS and repeat a year. I did the latter with my son and it worked fabulously.

Comment

this has been going on for decades, it is well known kids (especially football players in texas) have been purposely held back to give them a better chance to get a scholarship. it happens in other sports too, blair high school in new jersey always has an excellent wrestling team, as a prep school one of the things they offer is a chance to get a de-facto extra red shirt year as team members can still train and participate in tournaments even 1 year after graduation.
      blair high schools wrestling team that gets top talent from all over the country has been so successful that they are not allowed to compete for new jersey state titles even though they are in new jersey and new jersey is an excellent state for high school wrestling.