LaShawn Merritt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LaShawn Merritt

I didn't find a genuine Merritt thread, so apologies if one is out there.

According to Merritt's most recent IAAF on-line diary (today's front-page news), Merritt has really been investing time into learning more about the 400m.

An excerpt:

“We’re just spending a lot of time going over races. And learning more about races. Everything needs to be improved, from start to finish – body position, hitting a certain zone. I’m still learning the race. And I’m still learning myself in the race.”

Though Merritt doesn't have a specific time goal this season, he is aiming at winning his first world title, and has the following upcoming races to help sharpen him and get him set for Europe:

200m at the adidas Track Classic (16-may)
    400m at the Reebok Grand Prix (30-may)
    300m at the Prefontaine Classic (7-june)
    400m at USATF

He's got a 20,17 and 44,50 under his belt to-date. How is he fairing against whatever goal you personally believe he should hit? Does running 43-mid really win in Berlin, and, if so, does that mean that Wariner is not due to improve over the course of the year (or peak in Berlin)?

Re: LaShawn Merritt

Originally posted by EPelle
    IHow is he fairing (sic) against whatever goal you personally believe he should hit? Does running 43-mid really win in Berlin, and, if so, does that mean that Wariner is not due to improve over the course of the year (or peak in Berlin)?
    I just want JW to be in mid-43 shape when they meet this summer. If LM wins, more power to him, but I feel (wrongly or rightly) that he got the Oly win cheap.

Comment

Yeah, what a stiff! They should have rubbed the gold off one side of his medal just to show how little he deserved it. I mean, good grief, ran only a 43.75 PR to move to No. 5 on the all-time world list with the biggest winning margin in the event since 1896!

Comment

I can hardly believe they let him run on the relay :P