Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Youth track question

It's Junior Olympic time once again, and it got me to thinking about our next generation of track athletes. I hear so many stories about burnout and whatnot, and athletes who "peak" when they're 14.

Should athletes who show potential simply wait until high school before sprinting and running competitively? I wonder if the body has only so many races and whether athletes should bother risking injury or simply wearing down before the really important years, which are the high school years.

Track isn't like basketball and tennis and golf, where youth athletes must get an early start in order to develop specific skills that take years to perfect. Many Olympians didn't start running competitively until 9th or 10th grade.

I'm no expert on youth track so I wanted to get the opinions of those who have ample experience in the area. Fire away.

I would play sports in general and not get serious with track until starting high school. And stay away from any heavy lifting until start of high school, and even then focus on teaching the lifts with great skill before going up to anything remotely heavy.

Comment

I think it just depends on the kid. If they are injury-prone, they should take things easy, but some kids are incredibly resilient. If they really like track, let them compete! If they want to play other sports let them do that too.

Parents should be letting the kids make the bulk of the decisions about what to do and how much of it. They need guidance, and someone to keep them from making unwise decisions, but it's their lives and they should be the driver, regardless of talent level.