Brian Maxwell passes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brian Maxwell passes

Third in the world after Billy and Drayton in 1977-only 51-heart attack.

http://www.marinij.com/Stories/0,1413,2 ... 09,00.html

Re: Brian Maxwell passes

Sorry malmo. Posted to darkwing and then got interrupted at work midpost to here and didn't see yours.

Comment

That is sad. I remember Brian well, as I ran the Trail's End Marathon in Seaside, Oregon, the year he won it.

Thanks MJD. It could have been worse. I could have said the Thai's End Marathon!

Comment

I have many Brian Maxwell stories, as he coached me from 1979 to 1982 at Cal. I credit him with changing my training regimen so that I could handle harder, longer workouts while getting sufficient rest. I graduated to a much higher level of competition because of his coaching.

One of my favorite stories was when we were running repeat miles on a golf course during the fall. Brian would usually run with the lead pack during those workouts, but this day he was lagging a bit behind. I asked him if he was OK, and he said, "Fine, but I ran 28 miles in the hills this morning in 3 hours." Our workout was 15 miles that day, so he ran 43 miles that day, all of it averaging under 6:15/mile!

Brian was always very willing to help in many ways. He could come across as gruff, but he was never selfish. I'll miss him much.

Richard McCann

Comment

"That is sad. I remember Brian well, as I ran the Trai's End Marathon in Seaside, Oregon, the year he won it.

Last edited Sun, Mar 21, 2004 at 8:24:40 AM PST"

One more edit to go:-).

Comment