Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reason for Sub 13:00 5K

Four sub-13 5k in one year after 11 years? 25 seconds faster than PRE? Probably one or two more soon to go under 13:00. Not impossible to see sub 12:50. There was a time two years ago when 13:10 brought awe.

Can anyone at the Bible of T&F explain how a country can drop such times in such a short period?

Re: Reason for Sub 13:00 5K

I'm been following running since the early 1980s and I've read a lot about past running eras. It seems that there has been a running renaissance among high school running in the 2000's ever since Alan Webb. Just look at the top running high school talent since Webb became a big name. There was not the shear number of great high school runners in the 1980's or 1990's that were great in high school and continued to to get better in college and eventually the professional ranks. I graduated from high school in 1986. I ran a 4 x 1,600m relay race one time against Charmichael High School with had the Mastalir twins (Eric/Mark). These two guys were monster runners with incredible talent. I think both ran 4:04 for 1600m and 8:45ish for 3200 m. Yet, after high school they really didn't do anything really. I think I saw one of them run one of the Dream Miles as a rabbit one year. That seems to be the MO for many great high school runners in the 1980's and 1990's. But the 2000's have been a different story with Webb, Rupp, Ritzenhein, Hall, Fernandez, Solinksy, Tegenkamp, and several more as well. I can't remember when the US had so many great runners in their primes or entering their prime all at the same time. And there are several top talents in high school right now like Lukas Verzbicas coming up as well. With all this great running talent continuing to develop into college and professionally it's no surprise that more and more American runners would run fast times.

Comment

Originally posted by 4:24-miler