Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Ritz doing the right thing?

What do y'all think? Is Ritzenhein doing the right thing by running the Cardinal Invite 10K instead of the Big XII champs?

Re: Is Ritz doing the right thing?

As some brilliant analyst noted in another thread (oh, that was me), Colorado has no hope of being a player in the team-title department. In terms of glory for the school and as a recruiting aid, the Buffs will get far more benefit out of Ritz making the Olympic team, and this is a good first step, than they will his running a 14-minute 5K in Norman.

Comment

so, let's see -- I'm a head coach of a fully-funded men's program... I know I have catered to my own desires and recruited a bunch of distance runners, so I have a terribly unbalanced team that has no chance of winning an outdoor conference title... heck, why did my school hire me in the first place? someone remind me who pays the bills...

bad precedent for college athletics, in my opinion

Comment

Yes, insofar as he will better himself with a good performance, and will take that experience, new PR and confidence back into the collegiate schedule the remainder of the NCAA season. Moreover, running with the post-collegians and AR-holders over 5k and 10k, will provide Ritz an opportunity to gain incredible exposure at that level, and put him on a similar playing field as Alistair Cragg.

I credit Ritz with not shoving NCAA competition aside and walking off his team in pursuit of his in-season Olympic dream. He has an academic and team obligation to CU. With a compromise, both he and CU win in this case.

Michigan:s Brannen and Willis - along with other redshirts across the nation (including Flanagan) - have one goal in mind this season: Olympic-level competition, not the NCAAs.

Comment

bad precedent for college athletics, in my
          >opinion

GM, I couldn't agree more.

Comment