Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yego's big Birmingham throw

Collapse

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Yego's big Birmingham throw

    Originally posted by jeremyp View Post
    Yego has a huge, out of sector, throw. 90+ 1 inch out.
    The sector had only been marked up to ~88 meters - they had to extend it to find out if Yego's throw was good or not... It seems to have been measured as 91.30.

    Walcott also had a big out-of-sector throw, though it was so far out it was hard to tell how big it was even by eyeballing. 85+ at any rate; very impressive series for him.
    Last edited by gh; 06-07-2015, 09:52 PM.

  • #2
    Originally posted by LopenUupunut View Post
    The sector had only been marked up to ~88 meters - they had to extend it to find out if Yego's throw was good or not... It seems to have been measured as 91.30.
    Just checked the results again, and it looks like Yego won an appeal.

    91.39/299-10!

    http://livecache.sportresult.com/nod...OxrV6NH9Jg2k=\

    Comment


    • #3
      Yego is such an amazing story. One of these days I wouldn't be surprised to see a 93m throw from him!

      Comment


      • #4
        I am so glad Yego was given right and his throw valid. A huge fighter, each time he was overcome in this race he could react and drop a bomb. And, to me, "sector foul" shouldn't even exist. I can't understand their meaning. In the SP, ok, if you go out of the place, but in the other throws...

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by wamego relays champ View Post
          Just checked the results again, and it looks like Yego won an appeal.
          91.39/299-10!
          I love it, but HOW? It was clearly out of the sector.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Atticus View Post
            I love it, but HOW? It was clearly out of the sector.
            The IAAF report by Jon Mulkeen only says that the judges reversed their decision 20 minutes after the end of the meet. To me it looked out, but I only had a small screen view of a few fleeting seconds.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by Atticus View Post
              I love it, but HOW? It was clearly out of the sector.
              How can it be out of a sector that was only marked upto the 90m line? They had to manually extend the sector to make the decision and i guess that manual extension was a good enough reason for a protest and reversal.
              Last edited by norunner; 06-07-2015, 05:34 PM.

              Comment


              • #8
                Yego 2-for-2 on close decisions? Wasn't there a question last week about his hand being over the line in Rome?

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by gh View Post
                  Yego 2-for-2 on close decisions? Wasn't there a question last week about his hand being over the line in Rome?
                  That was in Ostrava; his Rome throw was OK.

                  Quick question: how accurately are these sectors measured and marked in the first place? The difference between a sector angle of 28.96° (what it should be) and a sector angle of 28.86° is about 15 cm that far out, and the sector line didn't appear 100% straight.
                  Last edited by LopenUupunut; 06-07-2015, 06:11 PM.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by Sasuke View Post
                    I am so glad Yego was given right and his throw valid. A huge fighter, each time he was overcome in this race he could react and drop a bomb. And, to me, "sector foul" shouldn't even exist. I can't understand their meaning. In the SP, ok, if you go out of the place, but in the other throws...
                    Sector is there for a reason, remember Salim Sdiri incident.. Or perhaps we should remove safety nets in hammer.
                    My impression is this was a clear FOUL an it's a disgrace for the organizers that sector was marked only to 90m line. Though I would like to see Yego's regular 91 m soon cause this most likely wasn't.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by wamego relays champ View Post
                      To me it looked out, but I only had a small screen view of a few fleeting seconds.
                      Ditto. I had the same impression, but I have the same reservations about calling it out. From the camera shots we saw on tv, it was hard to be absolutely sure. I think we have to trust the officials on that one.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by LopenUupunut View Post
                        Quick question: how accurately are these sectors measured and marked in the first place? The difference between a sector angle of 28.96° (what it should be) and a sector angle of 28.86° is about 15 cm that far out, and the sector line didn't appear 100% straight.
                        One Finnish source is now saying that's pretty much what happened. The big throw was outside the original sector line, but Yego asked for the sector angle to be remeasured and with the new sector it was in.

                        Supposing that actually is what happened, was it the right decision? Should the "real" sector angle of 28.96° trump the dreaded white line?

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by LopenUupunut View Post
                          One Finnish source is now saying that's pretty much what happened. The big throw was outside the original sector line, but Yego asked for the sector angle to be remeasured and with the new sector it was in.
                          That does seem to be essentially what happened; more sources are reporting it now. (Though at least one source says it was Yego's coach, not Yego himself, who asked for the angle remeasurement.)

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by LopenUupunut View Post
                            That does seem to be essentially what happened; more sources are reporting it now. (Though at least one source says it was Yego's coach, not Yego himself, who asked for the angle remeasurement.)
                            If this is the same Yego who got away with an obvious line foul in winning last week.(.or was it two weeks ago?.) the javelin gods are smiling on him.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Yego's big Birminham throw

                              (this deserves its own thread)

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X