Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IOC rule 40

On another thread 26mi365 raised the dark shadow of IOC rule 40.

The story on today's top headlines by Onion on IOC rule 40 seems to suggest an athlete could be DQ'd after winning gold if, for example, New Balance posted "Congratulations Jack Smith on winning your Gold at Rio."

Curious to know how this could be possible as athlete had no control over what their shoe company says or does. Would seem that IOC would lose in CAS.
    Last edited by Tuariki; 07-30-2016, 07:32 AM.

And they certainly would lose in the court of public opinion. The absurdity of the rule is such that I doubt the IOC will press anything too much because it is likely to blow up in their face.

I am not a lawyer but there are legal terms and conditions and those made to sign such contracts are not signing on a free basis and courts of law are going to be rather lenient on the athlete and rather tough on parties like the IOC if they come down on the athletes. I think that the term might be 'consideration':

Consideration must be of value (at least to the parties), and is exchanged for the performance or promise of performance by the other party (such performance itself is consideration). In a contract, one consideration (thing given) is exchanged for another consideration.
    What has the IOC given up to get the consideration and what value has been given to the athlete who has been forced to sign the condition.

Going after 'ambush marketing' will probably hold up, going after athletes and rather innocent commentary, and especially public tweeter stuff is almost certain shaky ground. I wish we had more attorneys here (Law Dude) use to comment but my guess is that his employer told him to cease.

Comment

How can IOC stop companies publishing the truth and/or punish athletes when their sponsor publishes the truth?

Example: new Balance posts the following in Twitter and FB.