Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

¶2019 mWC 110H: Grant Holloway (US) 13.10

Collapse

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Originally posted by BillVol View Post
    LOL at any formchart that would have Grant 5th.
    Because GH & Co. thought NCAA fatigue would be an anvil on his back, as it was for CC in 2017.
    Last edited by CookyMonzta; 10-13-2019, 08:02 PM.

    Comment


    • Originally posted by 26mi235 View Post
      ...He only had to be third at USATF and the rest of the races did not matter particularly so dissing the World Leader who never finished lower than second in races that mattered, ....
      err, the 6th at the Paris DL wasn't a great indicator... in retrospect it's easy to call it a hiccup, but sure didn't look like it at the time

      Comment


      • Originally posted by gh View Post
        forget inconsistency.... it could be argued that 5 was high on the formchart, given that he was 2nd at USATF at 13.36, didn't race for a month then was 6th in Paris at 13.25, then had a month off before Doha. There were no signs that the real Holloway was with us.
        some of us could feel it in our bones !!!!!

        Comment


        • Originally posted by 26mi235 View Post
          If the foot was in your lane and you knocked the hurdle down it would have the same effect. Hooking, at least the normal hooking, gives you an advantage that knocking down the other hurdle does not. Question: if that lane had been empty (DNS or FS), wouild he have been DQed (and what would the ruling be; I am not sure that hooking applies).
          He broke IAAF rule 168.7 (a) because his trial leg was around the side of his hurdle and below the height of the hurdle. The second part being clearly illustrated by him hitting the adjacent hurdle.

          Comment


          • What is the exact language and how does it differ from knocking your own hurdle over. I suspect that hooking is where you put your foot in space where there is no hurdle and is below the line of the hurdle.

            Comment


            • The rule says:

              "7. Each athlete shall go over each hurdle. Failure to do so will result in
              a disqualification.
              In addition, an athlete shall be disqualified, if:
              (a) his foot or leg is, at the instant of clearance, beside the hurdle
              (on either side), below the horizontal plane of the top of any
              hurdle;"

              Hitting the adjoining hurdle clearly indicated that his foot, at the instance of clearance, was beside the hurdle and below the horizontal plane of the top of the hurdle.

              Comment


              • Seems clear to me.

                Comment


                • Great Holloway interview on home page by Jeff Hollobaugh. I always knew Mouse Holloway (Fla coach) was brilliant; this proves it, and shows Grant's tenacity in hanging in there after the blah Euro stint.

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X