Collapse

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Top college track and field traditions?

There are several rankings of the colleges with the most "tradition" out there.

I wonder which 20 college track and field programs have the best tradition? Men only, since women started only relatively recently. Besides, the TSU Tigerbelles are an easy #1 anyhow! ;-)

I'm not an expert in track and field in any way, which is why I try to soak up info from "our favorite magazine," but I'm guessing the list of top traditions in track starts with Southern Cal. After that, how would the list go?

The football lists are put together considering several factors: total wins, national titles, bowl wins, AP rankings, All-Americans, facilities, fan interest, great coaches, etc., etc........

Track could use a similar formula. National titles, NCAA individual titles, great coaches, facilities, fan interest, dual meet record, etc.

What would a top 20 look like?

Damn. Edit...

First sentence should have read: "There are several rankings of the colleges with
    the most FOOTBALL "tradition" out there."

Comment

Re: Top college track and field traditions?

USC
      UCLA
      Villanova
      Oregon
      Kansas
      Arkansas
      Stanford
      UTEP
      Illinois
      Wazzu
      LSU
      Ohio State
      Tennessee
      Penn State
      Florida
      Brigham Young
      San Jose State
      TCU
      SMU
      Houston

Outside of the first entry, none are in any particular order.

Comment

Great list. If the question were what "cities" had the most track tradition, then Eugene and Gainesville would be 1 and 2 on the list.

Comment

Gainesville?

Coach, why Gainesville so high?

Comment

Re: Gainesville?

The history of the Florida Track Club that dates back to the late 60's.

Comment

Florida Track Club