Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overcrowded prison debacle

"A panel of three federal judges has ordered California to reduce its prison population by about 40,000 by mid-September. The judges acted on the grounds that overcrowded prisons violate inmates' constitutional rights."

What about the innocent people's rights who were violated by these imbeciles? Do they count? Yeah, that makes a lot of sense. :roll: :roll:

http://www.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/08/25/ ... index.html
    If you're ever walking down the beach and you see a girl dressed in a bikini made out of seashells, and you pick her up and hold her to your ear, you can hear her scream.

I am not a proponent of Get Out of Jail Free cards, but the prison population has soared in California due to tougher sentencing. Too tough now, or too lenient before ? I can't say.

Comment

As our population grows, so does the number of criminals.

I've never quite undertsood why people cite growing prison populations without mentioning overall population growth in the same sentence.

We should work to reduce recidivism rates by making prison a horrible experience (hard manual labor, no tv, no conjucal visits, only water drink, etc).

That's another reason they're overcrowded...crooks dont mind going back.
      The fool has said...there is no God. Psa 14

Comment

Originally posted by TrackDaddy
        That's another reason they're overcrowded...crooks dont mind going back.
        ...and don't forget there's $$$$ to be made as private contractors are getting in the prison business (in terms of building facilities, employing those who have to man the facilities, and the warehousing of inmates).

Howver, the question becomes after you continue stacking folks in prison, what happens to those whose sentances are up and due to be released. If they haven't learn'd concrete skills to successfully be re-intergrated into society, the same problem persists.