Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cal State Tuition Hike...and School President Salary Hike?

Collapse

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cal State Tuition Hike...and School President Salary Hike?

I'm not an expert on CA's university system, but this causes me to scratch my head.

...in response to the continuing public outcry over the decision by the Cal State Board of Trustees this month to approve an annual salary of $400,000 for Elliot Hirshman, the new president of San Diego State, at the same time the school increased annual student tuition by 12%. Hirshman's salary — $350,000 from the state, with an annual supplement of $50,000 from the campus foundation — is $100,000 more than his predecessor's.

http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me ... 5738.story

Re: Cal State Tuition Hike...and School President Salary Hik

I'm a hardcore capitalist, but the way the CEOs of American have fostered a climate of "we gotta pay more or we lose the top talent" is such self-serving bullshit I wanna retch. Particularly in a climate where business is failing left and right and these pricks keep writing themselves performances bonuses that somehow ignore their abject failures.

Or, to be fair, the fact that the economy is tanking, and they seem oblivious to it. If we're eating shit sandwiches, they should be given a full plate thereof.

ps--I've always loved the rationale that, during a collapsing economy that "we need to retain the talent." Well, hey, if everybody else is in the shitter as well, just where are all these bidders coming from who will "steal" your big dude?

Totally a culture where circular logic rules, and the guys (and I mean that in a unisex definition) who wear the suits continue to enrich themselves while pissing all over the rest of us.

pps--excuse the frequent use of bodily-function metaphors. Somehow seems appropriate when shitheads continue to piss all over us. Or something like that.

Comment